Peas and Yoga.

Wow, I just re-read my post from Thursday night and have to say I am slightly embarassed. Too much of this.

I want to address the conversation I had, with a guy from the fraternity. He introduced himself by comparing our wrist sizes, which I thought was really bizarre. He then proceeded to basically open up about how insecure he is about his body. He is considerably underweight and having trouble gaining weight. He was saying how hard it is for him to talk to girls and how he doesn’t feel attractive to women, he feels like he comes of weak and unmasculine. Even through slightly inebriated rose colored glasses, this really struck a chord with me. This guy, who I barely knew, was telling me all about an eating disorder and body image issues he had. Β I think so many times we think that these are just issues girls deal with, which is so obviously not the case. Issues with body image and weight are universal and while what is aesthetically desired differs between genders, the mentality can be so similar.

Have you had Β similar experiences in talking with the opposite sex about body image, society pressure or peer perception? I’d love some thoughts on this!

This weekend has already flown by, mostly thanks to a long but fun night last night! I was hired for a one-time promotional event, the one I interviewed for Thursday. Along with about fifteen other girls, we circulated the crowd at the Black Eyed Peas concert and promoted Blackberry BBM. It was actually really cool–Will. I. Am. was going to do a freestyle rap from all the messages texted in last night, so our job was to get crowd participation. I definitely got some dirty interesting texts sent! πŸ˜‰

LMFAO bus, on the way into working the concert. They opened for the Peas, along with Luda!

Our outfits consisted of a metallic lampshad/marsian man/tinman silver strappless dress, sparkly silver tights and insane painful four inch stripper heels…oh, and black wigs. Blackberry promotion attire. Obviously. πŸ˜‰

Sneaky phone pic, my costume preview

It was fun but I was very hungry/cold/tired/sore and…done by the end of the night. A unique opportunity to make a lil $$ though.. definitely would do it again! πŸ˜€ And, I got to see a little bit of the concert!

Black Eyed Peas!

—–

This morning I went to free yoga at Lululemon. It’s offered here every Sunday morning and it’s a cool way to take a relaxing class from a new teacher every week! It’s a tradition I’ve started, quand je me reveille en time. (Oh yeah, French quiz tomorrow!) Usually the class is pretty easy for me, as it is open to the community, but today I was feelin stiff and sore from last night, so I was happy to get a nice stretch in!

Class was followed by a mandatory stop at Whole Foods for coffee w/ a little steamed vanilla soy, yum… (another Sunday morning frequent stop!)

Mmmm, coffee!

——

My mom is coming over this afternoon to spend the day with me. I think we are going to do some shopping and probably having lunch or dinner together. I also have said French quiz and homework to attend to and tonight my roommate is competing in a Greek pagent to raise money for cancer research, so I’m going to go to support her. Busy day, better get on with it! Have a great Sunday everyone πŸ˜€

❀ Jac

In my yoga class this morning, the instructor said this phrase a few times, which really resonated with me. “Life is hard, it has it’s challenges. But you can get through it, just like you can get through this class. You have the opportunity to set the intention for the rest of your day.” I liked that idea and although it was only an hour, it is true. If you take the challenges one step at a time instead of thinking about some big problem/project/stressor, you can get through them. Yogi breath always helps me, too πŸ˜‰


5 responses to “Peas and Yoga.

  1. That concert promotion looks like a pretty fun job, though I can imagine the stripper heels weren’t too fun!!

    My best guy friend is struggling with ED right now, and it just goes to show you that girls aren’t the only ones with body image issues. I hate how taboo ED is…I feel everyone is afraid to talk about it, which adds to the problem!

    Hope you have a great week chica!

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i can’t believe a fRAT GUY would say that all to you! that would never happen hear. but i think it is really sad that he is dealing with that 😦 i can only imagine how much pressure guys must feel to be like muscular/masculine and all that. I agree with Gabriela, everyone is afraid to talk about it but more people struggle than we may know!
    that does look like such a fun job too πŸ™‚ & awesome that lulu lemon gives free yoga!!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. Hooray for FREE YOGA! I wanna go to a lululemon store SO BAD!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  4. Its so important to remember that the opposite sex has societal pressures, and similar struggles that females go with. We are all human and all have the risk of coping in similar ways.
    I have talked with a couple of guys who have worked or are working through eds, it breaks my heart, but at the same time opens my eyes. Thanks for writing a post that called attention to this!
    AHH FREE yoga wonderfull! I love that quote your yoga instructor said! ❀ ❀

  5. CAUTE outfit.. I love trying to sneak pictures in!

    That story about the boy on Thursday night breaks my heart a little bit. I am so happy that you were able to talk to him and such. That really is an eye opener.

    One of my guy friends in highschool lost so much weight and is obsessed with being thin in so much that he basically made another one of my friends stop eating too.

    What an inspiring yoga teacher

Leave a Reply

