Healthy Living Summit: Saturday Stories.

Hey hey heyyyy!! A special shout out to my new readers, thanks for stopping by and feel free to stay a while… ๐Ÿ˜‰


Finally time to let you all in on the Healthy Living Summit! Between a late flight out Sunday night, working all day Monday through today, last-minute car problems, and just general life catch up, I haven’t had a chance to post, so here it is, the recap of Saturday and Sunday! Such an amazing weekend, I miss Chicago, miss my buds and miss the conference!

Molly and I with readers outside of our hotel, during a HLS break

Our *creeptastic*, haunted Congress Hotel

Not only was it incredible to finally meet some of these women I’ve been *following* for over a year,

...and get my book signed!

…butย Tina, Caitlin, Heather, Kath and Meghann all did a wonderful job planning the summit. In addition to some amazing food,

The. Most. Amazing. lunch spread with roasted veggies, quinoa and chickpea salads, tofu, meat and cheese trays and sandwich thins galore...not to mention the dessert bar, from lemon bars to chocolate pudding pies to brownies, holy yum ๐Ÿ˜€

One of the many offerings during the Athenos snack break

…there were some great speakers. Highlights for me included Evan and Lin’s discussions on Ethical Eating on the Cheap. Katie was definitely a highlight too–you could tell her heartfelt story of finding health and happiness, and how the blogging community really helped her to achieve those things,ย touched the crowd. Finally Sabrina’s how-to on easy and healthy entertaining included fun giveaways and menu ideas, and Caitlin and Gena’s panel on “getting out of the blogging comparison trap” also seemed extremely relevant and well received! They discusses pros and cons of blogging and reading blogs which I think was a really good addition to the conference!

Other breakout sessions included yoga, (of course I was a fan, just too bad there weren’t any mats left! :/)

Look at how gorgeous the room was though!

After the conference ended Saturday, some bloggers enjoyed a tasting tour of Chicago *I was not lucky enough to sign up in time, registration closed in three minutes!!* while I joined a group of ladies for my first ever Zumba class. I may not be coordinated, or a dancer, but as Diana said, “If you’re moving, you’re doing it right”…right?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It was a lot of fun and so nice of Gina and Diana to host. Couldn’t think of better instructors to teach my first class!

Zumba!

Zumba Crew!

Thanks to X Sport Fitness for providing us a room to have the class!

Dinner Saturday night was organized by the lovely Sabrina. I was fortunate to get invited to join her group of fifteen plus at the chic Mercadito Mexcian restaurant, where we had an amazing pre-set menu of three different kinds ofย the. best. guacamole, tons of different kinds of tacos *vegan, black bean, shrimp, chicken, beef*, chop salad, fried plantains with a dipping sauce (!) and three different kinds of flan. The food, the drink, the company… all were perfect! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cocoa, pineapple and original guac, and salsas

Venue.

Company.

Loved getting the chance to chat with Heather!

Thanks again for the invite, Sabrina, I had such a great time!!

We left with very full, happy bellies, to say the least! I left with Gabriela, we made our way downtown to meet up with some other bloggers at a nearby bar. Dancing, having fun and shenanigans were to follow, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰

Andrea, Can you stay for Dinner!

I also met Andrea, who I had SO much in common with! And… we’re both from Seattle! Hi, friend! ๐Ÿ˜€

Saturday was such a jam-packed, memorable, fun day. Food, activities, discussions, company.. couldn’t be beat ๐Ÿ˜‰

Whew, lonnnnnnng post!! If you missed any of my other Healthy Living Summit Posts, you can see them here:

Chicago or Bust

I’m Heeeeeeeere!

Healthy Living Summit, Take One.

…and, stay tuned for my final HLS post, the Sunday recap! It’s been fun *re-living* the summit through pictures and posting!

Have you ever been to Chicago? Favorite thing(s) about traveling? I love walking around new cities *pretending* to be a local–I think walking is the best way to find great shopping, eats and landmarks, stumbling upon places you wouldn’t otherwise!

Have you ever been to a conference–Healthy Living Summit last year?, or another one? If you could organize a conference for a group of people interested in the same things (healthy living or otherwise) where would it be, what would be the activities and who would be guest speakers??

Lots of love,

โค Jac.


10 responses to “Healthy Living Summit: Saturday Stories.

  1. Wish we’d had a chance to chat more on Saturday at the conference – I cannot believe how fast the day flew by! So glad you had a great time in Chicago…come back soon?!

    • So, SO fast! I’d love to come back, soon, however not sure that’s in the cards right now! :/
      Take care!! โค

  2. Girl I want to go to HLS next year for sure! LOVE the recaps! U and Gabriela look so beautiful in the pic of you two!!!!

    Love you and I LOVE chicago! My fave city!

  3. Sounds like you had SUCH an amazing time. I MUST go one day ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Ahh I miss Chi-town too!! It was such an amazing experience. I just wish it had lasted longer so I’d gotten to know everyone better! Hope you’re having an amazing weekend love!!

    • Thanks girl, I am having such an amazing weekend! I haven’t been good about blogging–whoops! But I’ve been vacay-ing with my family, my sister is in town from Philly, we went to the Ocean, to a drive-through animal farm yesterday, the beach/hiking and dinner at my g parents house! SO fun and SO nice to be home sometimes, ya know?! How are you, when do you start school?! Miss you! โค

  5. Pingback: Sunday in the City. | Justjac’s Blog

  6. Pingback: Weekend in Oregon! | Justjac's Blog

  7. Pingback: Indian Food, Lululemon, Friends and the City! | Justjac's Blog

  8. Pingback: FitBloggin Kickoff! | Justjac's Blog

Leave a Reply

