Perspective, and some Really Good Eats.

I’m sure unless you’ve been living under a rock, you have all seen and heard all the coverage with the Chilean Miner Rescue that happened this week.

 “All 33 Chile miners freed in flawless rescue”

Wednesday, I had some errands to run, so I ventured home across the water for the night. I missed the ferry. I was tired from working all day. I was hungry and cranky. And I didn’t get to see this guy…

Then this happened…

The rescue.

 My mom and I stood in our kitchen, reading headlines and watching everything unfold. We were both amazed, and so happy at theunfolding events – every miner successfully rescued! What was truly incredible about this story though….. They were trapped under there for almost three months. Seventy days. And it has just been in the news, recently. Kind of puts things in perspective. My mood instantly turned around.   

 

A glass of red wine and…. Cooking dinner also helped! I do love to cook but obviously, in living in a sorority, it’s not really an everyday option for me. I made good use of the kitchen and made us dinner: Roasted Veg: purple and red potatoes, broc, cauli, carrots, onions, japanese eggplant, mushrooms and tomaters!

 
 
 

Eat yo veggies!

Roasted Veg: purple and red potatoes, broc, cauli, carrots, onions, mushrooms and tomaters!

 

I also stir fried up some shrimp, scallops in a red wine/bbq sauce mixture (the result of a glass of wine and forgetting that I had put wine to reduce, ha!)..but it was sooooooooo goood!!!– We had the stir fry atop the roasted veg, served with crusty olive and honey orange bread, a balsamic reduction for dipping, it was quite the Wednesday night feast!

 

And because sometimes you really just need dessert, the real feast came later thanks to a loaf of my sister’s homemade banana bread stashed away in the freezer, our supply of nut buts and some chocolate I also managed scrounge up! 😉

 

Homemade banana bread with White Chocolate Wonderful. I die.

^This is only a tiny sampling of the damage that occured 😉 Lurrrrvveeeee her homemade breads. <–My weakness ;P

  

Other note- worthy eats of the week??

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 

Part of a homemade "pizza" with humus, dairy-free almond cheese *get this, yums!*, shitake, red pep and tofu slices, broiled!

Love pizzas/wraps.. quick, easy, tasty!

Think (Food!) White Chocolate Chip bar, a la University cafe the other day

Snackplates! Pretzel slims, almond cheese, humus, tofu slices!

Buy at Whole Foods or any store, in the vegan cheese section, this is my favortie flavor... really strong "cheese" taste and texture and lots o protein!

Trader's Tofu

"Sushi" wrap made with seaweed, tofu, almond cheese and humus!

White...chocolatey. Review to come!

More sister bread... pumpkin! The VERY last slice, only half a slice 😦 sad to see it go!

  

 

dried fruit and nut biscottis- so good!

Trader Joe's Eggplant Humus, love this stuff!

Leftovers from Wednesday’s dinner, ea
 

Last night I went to an Oktoberfest themed party, at the same house I was at for the tailgate last weekend.. there was lots of beer drinking and games of the drinking variety.. I tried a few beers (sips, really) but I’m not really a beer fan, so….it was girly, sugary drinks for me! 😉 <–once in a while doesn’t hurt, right?!

Mmmmm, sugar

 

Mike's Hard Limeaide

leftovers taste better!

Tonight, I am babysitting, then there is talk of a “family night”. A friend who graduated in the spring is in town, and drinking and shenanigans are sure to ensue 😀
Hope you are all off to a good start to the weekend!!

What puts things in perspective for you? Fav new foodie concoctions? – I like my wraps and my random stir fries! 😀

 What weekend plans do you have??

 
2 responses to “Perspective, and some Really Good Eats.

  1. Working all weekeend~i dont get weekends now that i am back at college and need the $$$
    my fave new food concoctions involve cereal tahini and honey and rice milk in big mush~sounds gross but its yum!!!
    also love wraps because whats not to love about the endless types and amounts f fillings u can put in there!!
    xx

  2. Pingback: Return Care Package. | Justjac's Blog

Leave a Reply

