30 Day Challenge and Success in the Kitchen! :)

Currently in the library, manging on this beauty…

"So pink, so prettttttttttttty" - Nina in Black Swan

*Funny story: My older sister has pretty much coined the term “manging” as in I am “manging” this [insert food item here.] Lol.*

So as I mentioned the other night, I went home Saturday, with a friend, to visit my mommy and kitty and kitchen 😉 relax and recharge. I also really wanted to bring said friend home – she has only been once and it had been almost a year!

While I was home, I made an incredible stir fry. It was one of those probably-can-never-again-achieve this because you don’t know how much of anything was thrown in types of recipes, but it was good. Wish I had taken pictures of it while cooking, but some wine and talking may have been involved, and the camera slipped my attention.. Anyway, it included a sauce of fresh garlic and ginger, soy and sesame ginger sauces, with mixed carrot, eggplant, red pepper, broccoli, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, sweet potato, onion, snow peas and mushrooms. Over a brown rice and grain mix, and topped with fresh cilantro, basil and chopped, Sahale pineapple spiced cashew pieces. (I will insert a picture of the leftovers next post!)

Yesterday’s ferry ride home lunch consisted of a local grocery’s salad bar (similar to Whole Food’s lovin) and a few pieces of shared California roll,

Mixed greens, romaine, chili tofu, tuna salad, veg, a few bites of this and that and sushi piece. All eaten with chopsticks, a side of the newest US Weekly and my once in a very purple moon Diet Coke 🙂

Other eats at home included this snacky plate of random vegan, gluten free goodies I got as samples from a local vendor at Whole Foods, along with a few slivers of my sister’s banana bread w/ my  mom’s blackberry jalapeno jam.

Couldn’t decide so I tried ’em all :),

Vegan, Gluten-free goodies, banana bread and cashews. This x2.

***

With the New Year here, and all, there are health and fitness related kick-start/resolution/etc etc plans everywhere it seems. As mentioned, I’m not a huge fan of resolutions per say, but I did decide to join in my yoga studio’s thirty day challenge. What does this entail? Thirty yoga practices in thirty days. Oh boy. It will definitely be a challenge, but I am looking forward to it 🙂 It started on Saturday, and so far, so good! I will be out of town next weekend, a college-weekend-getaway-trip, so today and Thursday I am completing a noon class and a later PM class to make up for the missed days. I will keep you guys posted 😀

After coming home a sweaty, hungry beast from hot yoga last night, I dove in to some leftover bread pudding that the cook had made from dinner. I am working on my sweets overload, but bread pudding is a favorite of mine, so I had to have a few bites 😉

 

Bread Pudding with a side of Buddah 🙂

Which I promptly followed with a cereal mess! It has been forever – okay well, not forever, but too long – since I have had one of these. Remember when I used to have them all the time? The idea is simple: start with your cereal base, in this case, pb puffs from Whole Foods, and some other random ones mixed in there, and then your additions; in this case, frozen berries, a little bit of vanilla chai vega,

 

Cereal Mess.

To be topped with vanilla almond milk, and a spoonful of your nut but of choice,

 

Spoonful 'o bettern pb before the almond milk pour

Love these and they will definitely be making a re-appearance. I like my crunch and my mix of flavahs!!

 

Well, I’m off to hit up Trader Joe’s (I want some flowers for my room!), order books and go to my Monday night meeting, then hot yoga, and cleaning the studio. Tonight I have fun plans to attend a Margarita Monday party. A busy day for sure, but busy is good!

 

Hope your Monday has been bon!

Best thing you ate or did this weekend? Do you have a version of a “Cereal (or oats) Mess”?!

Have you made any New Year’s resolutions or what are your goals for the year?

 

9 responses to “30 Day Challenge and Success in the Kitchen! :)

  1. I have oat and cereal messes every day! cuurently enjoying a pear/almond butter/buckwheat flake/honey/cinnamon and rice milk combo 🙂 . You can check out my 2011 goals on my “Project 2011” page on my blog xx

  2. So jealous you can do hot yoga. I can’t wait until I’m older and have the MONAYYYY! 🙂

  3. I wish we had hot yoga here, it really is a bummer we dont : p I will just live through you! I love that you are doing a 30 day yoga challenge, you will have to let us know too if you notice you feel stronger , or are etc..!

    My resolution was to get YOUR goodies out, and today it is snowing bad, I guess we are supposed to get alot of snow, I didnt even know, I dont watch the weather channel , I just look out the window, it works ; ) lol
    Hoping to get it out tomorrow or thursday if we do happen to get tons of snow! xoxo Love ya!

  4. Good luck with your challenge!! Biggest NYR is to STRESS LESS. Something I’m constantly working on!

  5. Pingback: Snow Angel :) | Justjac's Blog

  6. Ahhh, vegan goodies – my favorite!

    I love that you’re doing a yoga challenge! I think you’ll absolutely love it – can’t wait to hear your thoughts a month from now and if you’re feelin all zen-d out!

  7. Pingback: Whole Foods Free Samples. | Justjac's Blog

  8. Pingback: TGIF! | Justjac's Blog

  9. Pingback: My Weekend!! | Justjac's Blog

Leave a Reply

